Updating Enterprise Security Settings

How to: Update Enterprise security settings.

Environment: Comsense Enterprise

Security requirements:

  • System Options
    • Security
      • Open Security
      • Save Security

In this article:

About Enterprise Security Settings

Enterprise security settings determine the accessibility and functionality of the windows in Enterprise. Security settings are established under different roles and roles are assigned to Comsense users. Users can have multiple roles providing access and functionality for various areas of the system. Administrators or users with security settings permissions can add new roles with customized security settings or update current roles' security settings. The only security settings that cannot be change is the Administrator role which provides access to the entire system.

Accessing Security

Enterprise > System Options > Security

Click image to enlarge
Enterprise Navigation menu; shows the location of System Options and Security.

Adding a Role

In the Roles tab of the Security window:

  1. Right-click in the Role pane
  2. Click Add Role
Click image to enlarge
Security window, Roles tab; shows the Roles pane right-click menu and the location of the Add Role.

In the fillable line item:

  1. Enter the role name
  2. Enter the role description
Click image to enlarge
Security window, Roles tab; shows the Role field and Description field filled out on the fillable line item.
  1. Click Save

Updating Security Settings

The security settings pane lists the settings for the currently selected role in the Role pane. The security settings pane lists the functionalities below categories and subcategories. If you check the parent category checkbox, all subcategories and subcategory functions will auto-select. You can set the permissions at any level and further customize by individually removing or adding permissions.

To provide permissions to the role, Check the category or function checkbox.

Click image to enlarge
Security window, Roles tab; shows all security functions checked under the General Ledger category because the General Ledger header is checked.

To remove a permission from a role, uncheck the function checkbox.

Click image to enlarge
Security window, Roles tab; shows one general ledger function unchecked.

Assigning Users to Roles

You can assign a user to a role in the Roles tab or assign a role to a user in the Users tab. Both procedures complete the same task. We recommend assigning users to a role in the Roles tab if you are assigning multiple users to one role and assigning a role to a user in the Users tab if you are assigning multiple roles to one user.

Roles Tab

The Users pane is in the bottom right-hand corner of the Security window, Roles tab.

In the Roles pane:

  1. Select the role

In the Users pane:

  1. Right-click
  2. Click Add Member
Click image to enlarge
Security window, Roles tab; shows the User pane right-click menu and the location of Add Member.

In the Assign Users window:

  1. Select the appropriate users using the selection tool
  2. Click OK
Click image to enlarge
Assign Users window; shows a user in the Assigned Users pane and the location of the OK button.

The user is now assigned to the selected role.

Users Tab

The Roles pane is in the bottom right-hand corner of the Security window, Users tab.

In the Users pane:

  1. Select the user

In the Role pane:

  1. Right-click
  2. Click Add Member Of
Click image to enlarge
Security window, Users tab; shows the a selected user, the Role pane's right-click menu, and the location of Add Member Of.

In the Assign Users window:

  1. Select the role using the selection tool
  2. Click OK
Click image to enlarge
Assign Roles window; shows a role in the Assigned Roles pane and the location of the OK button.

The role is now assigned to the selected user.

Removing a Role from a User

You can remove a user from a role the Roles tab or remove a role from a user in the Users tab. Both procedures complete the same task. We recommend removing users from a role in the Roles tab if you are removing multiple users from one role and removing roles from a user in the Users tab if you are removing multiple roles to one user.

Roles Tab

In the Roles tab:

  1. Select the role

In Users pane:

  1. Right-click on the user
  2. Click Delete Member
Click image to enlarge
Security window, Roles tab; shows the User pane right-click menu and the location of Delete Member.

Users Tab

In the Users tab:

  1. Select the User

In the Role pane:

  1. Right-click on the role to delete
  2. Click Delete Member Of
Click image to enlarge
Security window, Users tab; shows the a selected user, the Role pane's right-click menu, and the location of Add Member Of.

Deleting Roles

To delete a role, Right-click on the role and Click Delete Role.

Click image to enlarge
Security window, Roles tab; shows the Role line item right-click menu and the location of Delete Role.

Related Courses

Click the link(s) below to check out our course(s) related to this article in Comsense Academy:

Not registered with Comsense Academy? Click here to request a registration key.

Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments