Auto-Select Orphaned Change Order Suggested Billing

Feature: Auto-Select Orphaned Change Order Suggested Billing

Environment: Comsense Enterprise

Useful Terms: 

Orphaned Change Order is a change order where you replace a product from one cost group with a product from another cost group and some or all of the contract amount remains under the original cost group with no associated product for billing. E.g. A project has a $1000 exit device and you switch the exit device for a $200 lock on a change order. The project contract now has an "orphaned" $800 with no associated product for billing. *Note: If the product change occurs in the same cost group or there is no difference in cost, there is no orphaned amount.

Function: The Auto-Select Orphaned Change Order Suggested Billing feature automatically bills ALL change orders (including the orphaned amount) during invoicing. The automatic billing occurs regardless of:

  • The openings associated with the shipment and invoice
  • The change order approval status

Purpose: The Auto-Select Orphaned Change Order Suggested Billing feature ensures you bill for all change orders and orphaned amounts.

How it works: 

Basic Function

The information below details the basic function of the Auto-Select Orphaned Change Order Selected Billing feature. Keep in mind that each project has different variables that may change how the function affects your billing. If the change order billings are skewing your invoice, Contact Support for assistance.

Auto-Select Enabled

The Auto-Select Orphaned Change Order Suggested Billings feature is enabled by default. When the feature is enabled, the system includes all change order billings in the invoice regardless of the openings on a shipment.

Click image to enlarge
Invoice window;shows the shipment billing, original product billing, and change order billing automatically included in the invoice.

Auto-Select Disabled

If you disable the Auto-Select Orphaned Change Order Suggested Billings feature, the system does not include all change orders in your invoice and the change order billing remains in the Balance to Bill column. You must manually add any change order billings to your invoice to bill the change orders. You must invoice your project's change orders to complete the project in the system.

Click image to enlarge
Invoice window; shows the shipment billing, original product balance to bill, and change order balance to bill.

Enabling & Disabling the Feature

Before Enabling or Disabling

Considerations

Before enabling or disabling the Auto-Select Orphaned Change Order Suggested Billing, always consider projects that are in progress and how the change will affect the workflow and billing.

Security Requirements 

  • System Options
    • Division
      • Open a Division
      • Save a Division

Enabling & Disabling

Enabling and disabling the feature uses the same procedure. In the Division window, Open the Division and Check the Auto-Select Orphaned Change Order Suggested Billings Checkbox.

Click image to enlarge
Division window; shows the location of the Auto-Select Orphaned Change Order Suggested Billings checkbox.

Adjusting the Billing in the Invoice Window

Regardless of whether or not the feature is turned on, you can always manually update the change order billing in the Invoice window. If you include a change order billing in your invoice, the invoice will bill for the shipment amount, the change order deduct, and the original product. Adding and removing change orders from the invoice uses the same procedure. 

In the Invoice window, Click the Change Order Billing tab and Check or Uncheck the change order checkboxes.

Click image to enlarge
Invoice window; shows the Change Order Billings tab and the location of the Selected checkbox.
Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments